Can alcoholics smoke weed? An Alcoholic Seeks Answers (And Stays Sober)

Is marijuana a good substitute for alcohol? Can alcoholics smoke weed? Is weed safe? Am I just switching one drug for another? Is marijuana addictive? Is marijuana healthy?

I don’t have answers to these questions but I’m looking for them. As a recovering alcoholic who also suffers from depression, anxiety, and ADHD, these questions are all pertinent to marijuana’s medicinal capabilities. I want to get to the bottom of this.

One way to study marijuana is by smoking it. I’m not gonna do that. I’ve smoked enough to be able to speak from my own experience. And I’m not prescribed medical marijuana. I just got out of rehab. I’m really not interested in going back. Or getting arrested because I live in New Hampshire and marijuana is illegal here. Since I do have enough hands on experience with drugs, it’s time to do some reading and hardcore research. I intend on studying marijuana and staying sober.

My sobriety is my number one priority. I really wish I wasn’t an alcoholic but I am. The tricky part is I have no idea how marijuana effects me as an alcoholic. I have self medicated with both alcohol and marijuana in the past. I have not smoked marijuana in over five months and I have not had a drink in over three months. I’m stone cold sober and have zero intention of using drugs. Seems like the perfect time to start doin’ some research! Here we go!

The biggest question I have is this: Is marijuana a safe alternative to alcohol? In a lot of ways, yes it is. I’ve always joked that nobody has ever smoked a blunt and then thought to themselves, “ya know what? I think I’m gonna beat my wife.” Violence is much less common with marijuana than it is with alcohol. I’m just speaking generally and from my own experience with the two substances. When I drink, sometimes I wanna fight people. It just seems like a good idea! But in the past when I’ve smoked weed, I’ve never EVER had any thoughts about hurting others or myself. A lot of the violence that has to do with marijuana comes from our failed war on drugs in America. This has been the precedent for decriminalizing marijuana in several states across the U.S. I think that we’re all sick of packing our jails full of dumb stoners. And even though not everybody smokes it (contrary to what every stoner wants to believe) everybody is real sick of dealers. Dealers suck. Fuck dealers. I don’t care how nice your dealer is, bruh, they’re still a pawn in the grand scheme of a much larger organized crime syndicate. So why don’t we just open up shops and have scientist regulate this shit? Look, I don’t trust the FDA. They’ll tell you that GMO’s don’t fuck your shit up (they do) and that corn is good for you (it isn’t). However, making marijuana illegal has caused way more trouble than it’s worth. I for one just want this shit to be legal so we can end all of these stupid arguments about it once and for all. Let’s let all the nerdy nerds at NIH (National Institution of Health) and the CDC (Center for Disease Control) get us some real facts and figures from a purely scientific perspective. I’m fucking sick of all this witchcraft, man. Sick of it! Does weed really cause depression? Or do people with depression tend towards smoking weed? Some numbers would be nice. Some scientific studies would be DOPE.

Alcohol is legal. When it was illegal in America during Prohibition, things got wicked violent and alcohol consumption increased. People went blind from drinking bathtub gin and prison hooch. Everybody drank moonshine on the reg and shot up each other’s hoods. Prohibition was a gigantic failure. The war on drugs, likewise, is a gigantic failure. There’s a bunch of people smoking this stuff and we don’t know exactly what it does? We know what liquor does. Why don’t we find out what the deal is with marijuana? Doesn’t this constitute as a public health crisis?

There are scientists working this out and cranking away in labs to get us some answers. Or at least, that is what the Internet tells me. While the lab coats are doing their experiments and getting us our much needed and desired stats, I’ll be doing some of my own research. I bought this book “Marijuana: The Unbiased Truth about the World’s Most Popular Weed” by Kevin P. Hill, M.D. According to the back of this book that I now own and intend on reading and reporting on Hill is, “…a leading expert on marijuana [who] sifts through the myths to deliver an unbiased, science-based guide to help you make informed decisions about marijuana.” Sweet! GIMME MY ANSWERS NERD BOY! More to come!

5 comments

  1. theraineyview · November 7, 2015

    Alcohol consumption decreased by 25-40% during Prohibition, and juvenile drinking decreased by more than half. Initiation to alcohol was an adult, private and ritualized event, usually in honor of a special occasion such as a promotion or marriage, not a childhood rite of passage as it is now. However, Prohibition did cause a lot of harm to people who were already alcoholics, by leading to gang monopolies and supply tampering.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. TEDESTEN · November 7, 2015

    I’ve seen some numbers like that before about decrease in consumption on from before Prohibition and then a major drop in consumption in 1921 but there’s a ton of numbers that say otherwise that indicate a sharp increase after 1922. It’s hard to figure out as far measure per capita consumption, however I’ve seen mad stats about alcohol production and distribution spiking during prohibition after 1922 up until 1933 when it was amended. Alcohol-related crime also spiked. And according to PBS, I saw that there were more “bars” opened up in NYC during Prohibition than there had been before it was enacted.

    Like

  3. TEDESTEN · November 7, 2015

    A lot of statistics also say that consumption was decreasing steadily until Prohibition and then it jumped way back up and then remained pretty high up to WWII.

    Like

  4. Victoria B. · November 8, 2015

    Great post. For me the answer is no. However, I reserve the right to change my mind. And I try not to judge. There are lots of lines. For example, I don’t drink non alcohol beer or wine but if that works, then fine for them.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. TEDESTEN · November 8, 2015

    Thank you! Thanks for commenting too! The answer for me is also no. But I do think that there must be someway that this plant can be medically helpful and it’s worth doing research on. Since I’ve decided that I’m not going back to smoking then I’m going to learn as much as I possibly can especially if I’m going to be dealing with these weird weed cravings. No alcohol is more than fine with me. But no weed seems fucked up when adderall is “fine”. This issue kinda makes me want to go back school.

    Like

Leave a Reply

