Red Flag: FATIGUE

I don’t know how anybody does it. I just got done with my third week of work at this call center. It’s still going well. I survived Thanksgiving! I hope you did too. I’ve literally been just sleeping and working and sleeping and working. For real though, working full time with depression is exhausting. I don’t know what’s harder to do with depression, full time work or taking on a full course in school. Good or bad or ugly, I can sleep through pretty much anything whether I want to or not.

I’m starting to notice a pattern with basically everything I do: after about two weeks, I hit the wall and all I want to do is sleep. This is a red flag. This is not a good sign. Never getting out of bed and shutting yourself away from the world for extended and worrisome periods of time is a textbook sign of depression.

In the past, I’ve tried to fight it off and fight through it and that’s been a terrible idea. This time around (this past weekend) I just decided to lay down and give into the dreaded sleepies. It wasn’t bad! I hate being tired but trying to pound coffee by the gallon and wake up when you just can’t is awful. That’s been my approach in the past. This time, I just gave in and didn’t fight it. It wasn’t a way of giving up but the way I’d like to think about it is that I listened to my body.

Sleeping it off is one way to manage. I feel tired all of the time and it doesn’t seem to matter what I do but sleeping feels good. I definitely gotta address this chronic fatigue because this is most likely a bad sign.

 

12 comments

  1. Aja · December 1, 2015

    Dude, I completely get it. I won’t tell you to “hang in there” or anything else, but to make sure you deal with it as best as you can. Love!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gemma · December 1, 2015

    I totally understand where you’re coming from. Take care x

    Liked by 1 person

    • TEDESTEN · December 3, 2015

      Thanks! Have you ever woken up just to go back to bed? It’s INSANE.

      Like

      • Gemma · December 3, 2015

        Yeah I have. Any improvement? x

        Liked by 1 person

      • TEDESTEN · December 3, 2015

        Since quitting smoking actually there’s been quite a bit! I really underestimated how tired smoking cigarettes makes me. Thank you for asking!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Gemma · December 3, 2015

        Glad to hear it x

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Richard P. · December 1, 2015

    Grab yourself some b vitamins or switch off coffee? That’s what I try to do to battle my constant fatigue… or write. Seems to perk me up every time!

    Liked by 1 person

    • TEDESTEN · December 3, 2015

      You’re right about writing, man. I’ve been taking a little break but it’s been energizing to be back.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Richard P. · December 3, 2015

        Good! Always good to take a break sometimes, too.

        Like

      • TEDESTEN · December 3, 2015

        haha definitely. I don’t want to be shit-posting on my own blog.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. truthbetold1111 · December 1, 2015

    I worked in a call center for YEARS and I swear it gave me chronic fatigue/narcolepsy. It’s completely exhausting to be on the phones all day. Best of luck. I can certainly relate!

    Liked by 1 person

    • TEDESTEN · December 3, 2015

      I’m glad to hear that I’m not just weak haha I kinda love it but it is strangely tiring. It’s hypnotizing. I do love how quickly the day goes by though. There’s like zero time to look at the clock.

      Like

Leave a Reply

